On the Declaration of Commitment of Port of Spain

Senator Cecilia López Montaño-Colombia

Senator Cecilia López Montaño-Colombia

In relation to this declaration, the central theme of the next Summit of the Americas to be held in Trinidad and Tobago, I would like to raise some points with which I totally agree and which have also been the main pillars of my job as a Senator in Colombia.

I do believe that the promotion of greater opportunities for decent work in the region is crucial. This is, in my view, the main tool that a State must turn to in order to get out of the perturbing trap that poverty sets. I also think that we must channel our efforts into real, high-quality education as the main driver for our citizens’ progress.

As to the environment, I consider it appropriate to focus on seeking new forms of renewable energy and on ways to generate sustainable and environmentally friendly energy. Developed countries are already working on this, so we should spare no efforts to avoid lagging behind.I fully agree with developing social protection schemes and achieving equal access to basic social services such as water supply, housing, healthcare, food and sanitation for men and women alike. Indeed, my major project as a Senator in Colombia has been promoting a set of laws precisely aimed at reaching these goals as a way of showing that the Legislative can also contribute to making the necessary social changes.

I should also mention the issue of science and technology. I am enthusiastic about our countries’ commitment to increasing the investment in R&D by at least 1% of the GDP by 2015 and to strengthening the ties among universities, scientific institutions, the private sector, multilateral agencies and the workforce. We must continue working on this if it is that our peoples really wish to successfully enter the global marketplace.

Likewise, I think that it is very significant that this event serve as a tool to watch over our democratic institutions. Given the current context where many leaders, including the President of Colombia, are seeking ingenious ways to sidestep institutions to perpetuate their power, we must have these institutions in place to act as a check against threats to democracy.

Finally, I should note the importance of including gender issues in member countries’ public policies. Equality and democratic fairness will remain one of my bastions as a civil servant, since I believe that improving these aspects is our best contribution to a democratic regime.

Leave a comment